Sewing Machines from the Past to the Present
English version
 
Home Contact Forum Guest Book
Welcome !
Today is 
 
 
  Barthélemy Thimonnier >
  Elna >
  Husqvarna >
  Jaguar >
  Janome >
 
 
 
 
  General Chronology
  Sewing tips
  Links >
  Who's the Webmaster?
  Site stats

 

 
BARTHELEMY THIMONNIER (1793-1857) I

First episode : 1793 - 1832

Thimonnier has freed women from one of their servitudes
To tell the truth, the noble life of Thimonnier should be taught in schools.
Edouard Herriot

 

Barthélemy Thimonnier was born on 19 August 1793 in L'Arbresle, Rhône (69), France. The elder of seven he studies for a while at Saint jean seminary in Lyon and in 1795 he takes the trade of tailor and sets up his business in Amplepuis which he will leave after his wife's death. He marries a embroideress in January 1822. thus, in 1823 he moves to the neighbourhood of Saint-Etienne in a place named 'Les Forges'.


Bathélemy Thimonnier
Sewing garments all day long, Thimonnier soon starts to think about sewing with the help of a mecanical device. He had certainly noticed the stitch used by the workwomen in the Lyon region to crochet - they could make the stitches so fast and almost in a 'mecanical' way... It was the chain stitch, the very stitch he uses for his mecanical sewing. Thus, Thimonnier completes his "Couseuse", that is his first sewing machine, in Valbenoite in 1829.
A a tailor, even though he is smart enough to invent a sewing machine, Thimonnier has problems to derive money from his invention alone, so he associates with Aguste Ferrand, a tutor in the Ecole des Mines in Saint-Etienne. he signs a private agreement in which he agrees upon building a second "mecanical loom" while "Mr. Ferrand agrees to make all drawings, reports and applications" necessary for the patent "in both the contracting parties' names" as well as "finding the sum of money necessary to the application of the said patent". Note that the patent is to be "in both the contracting parties' names" whereas Thimonnier is the actual clever inventor of a machine capble of sewing 200 stitches per minute (a tailor sew 30 in a minute).

Reconstruction of Thimonnier's workshop
at the
at the Sewing Machine and Cycle
Museum in Amplepuis.
The patent is issued on 17 July 1830. But Thimonnier had gone to Paris before the patent was issued. Thanks to generous investors, he had founded the first company whose "unique and special aim is to exploit, in France and aboard, Thimonnier and Ferrand's invention of the sewing machine and, eventuallty, of its by product". The contrat was signed on 8 June 1830 and read that the company's "coporate name will be Germain Petit and Co. The head office is set up at 155 rue de Sèvres.

The first page of the patent

In the morning of 20 January 1831 about 200 tailors ransacked the rue de Sèvres factory. They destroyed eighty Couseuses and threw the pieces out through the windows. They considered these machines that they nicknamed "arm-breakers", as dangerous competitors.


Couseuse at the Sewing Machine
and Cycle Museum in Amplepuis
Thimonnier had to flee for his life. As he was the victim of thearts from the tailors Thimonnier withdrew from the Company and left Paris. Before him, another man from Lyon had beenn through the same ordeal - the Canuts (Lyon's textile workers) had threatened Joseph Jacquard (1752-1834) with throwing him into the Rhône river and had destroyed his first loom.

The Germain Petit and Co company broke up after one of the most important investors, M. Beaunier. The very man who had created the first animal haulaged railway between Saint Etienne and Andrézieux.

second episode >

 


© MCHA/SMPP
Tous droits réservés

Machines à coudre d'hier et d'aujourd'hui
 
Accueil Contact Forum Livre d'or
Bienvenue !
nous sommes le 
   
   
  Barthélemy Thimonnier >
Elna >
  Husqvarna >
  Jaguar        nouveau ! >
  Janome >
 
 
 
Et en plus...
  Chronologie  
  Auto-dépannage  
  Infos pratiques  
  Liens >
  Qui est le Webmestre ?
  Statistiques du site  

 
BARTHELEMY THIMONNIER (1793-1857) I

Premier épisode : 1793 - 1832

Thimonnier a libéré la femme d'une de ses servitudes...
En vérité, la noble vie de Thimonnier devrait être enseignée dans les écoles.
Édouard Herriot

C'est le 19 août 1793 que Barthélemy Thimonnier naquit à l'Arbresle dans le département du Rhône (69). L'aîné de six frères et soeurs il fait quelques études au séminaire de Saint-Jean à Lyon, puis il embrasse la profession de tailleur et s'installe, en 1795, à Amplepuis qu'il quittera après le décès de sa première épouse. Il épouse une brodeuse en second mariage en janvier 1822. En 1823 il s'installe donc dans un faubroug de Saint-Etienne au leiu dit Les Forges.


Le Sieur Barthélemy Thimonnier
Travaillant toute la journée pour habiller ses client, Thimonnier devient vite hanté par l'idée de coudre mécaniquement. Il avait certainement remarqué le point qu'utilisaient les ouvrières dans les monts du Lyonnais pour broder au crochet et avec quelle rapidité elle pouvaient former les points de manière presque 'mécanique'... C'était le point de chaînette, celui qu'il utilise pour sa couture mécanique. Ainsi, c'est à Valbenoîte, en 1829 que Thimonnier achève de fabriquer sa "Couseuse", c'est à dire sa première machine à coudre.
Thimonnier est un simple tailleur, certes à l'esprit assez aiguisé pour inventer une machine à coudre, mais il lui est difficile de tirer parti de son invention s'il reste seul, il s'associe alors avec Auguste Ferrand, Répétiteur à l'Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne. Il signe avec lui un accord privé dans lequel il convient de fabriquer un second "métier mécanique" tandis que "le sieur Ferrand s'engage à faire tous les dessins, rapports et demandes" de brevet "au nom des deux contractants" ainsi qu'à "faire la somme nécessaire pour la demande du dit brevet d'inventeur". Notez bien que la demande de brevet est faite "au nom des deux contractants" alors que c'est Thimonnier seul qui est l'ingénieux inventeur d'une machine capable de piquer 200 points / minute (30 pour un tailleur).

Reconstitution de l'atelier de Thimonnier
au musée de la machine à coudre
et du cycle d'Amplepuis
Le brevet est délivré le 17 juillet 1830. Mais avant même la délivrance de ce dernier, Thimonnier s'était rendu à Paris et avait fondé, grâce à de généreux investisseurs, la première société ayant "pour but unique et spécial d'exploiter, tant en France qu'à l'étranger, l'invention faite par les sieurs Thimonnier et Ferrand d'une machine à coudre et, s'il y a lieu, de sa dérivée". L'acte de société signé le 8 juin 1830 indique que "la raison sociale sera Germain Petit & Cie. Le siège de la société est établi à Paris, 155 rue de Sèvres".
La première page du brevet

Mais, au matin du 20 janvier 1831 environ 200 ouvriers tailleurs saccagèrent l'atelier de la rue de Sèvres. Ils détruisirent quatre-vingt Couseuses et en jetèrent les débris par les fenêtres. En effet, ces machines qu'ils surnommaient "casses-bras" leur apparaissaient comme de dangereuses concurrentes.


La Couseuse au musée de la machine
à coudre et du cycle d'Amplepuis
Menacé, Thimonnier, réussi à s'échapper. En butte aux injures et aux menaces des ouvriers tailleurs l'inventeur se retire de la Société et quitte Paris. Avant lui, un autre Lyonnais avait connu le même sort : les Canuts avaient menacé Joseph Jacquard (1752-1834) de le jeter au Rhône et avaient détruit son premier métier.

La Société Germain Petit & Cie fut dissolu après la mort de l'un des plus importants investisseurs, M. Beaunier. Le même qui avait, quelques années auparavant, créé la première ligne de chemin de fer à traction animale de Saint-Etienne à Andrézieux.

Thimonnier devait sortir de cette ornière....

 

Deuxième épisode >

 

 


© MCHA/SMPP
Tous droits réservés